Report 2014-124 Recommendation 5 Responses
Report 2014-124: California's Alternative Energy and Efficiency Initiatives: Two Programs Are Meeting Some Goals, but Several Improvements Are Needed (Release Date: February 2015)
Recommendation #5 To: Motor Vehicles, Department of
To ensure that the decal fee is sufficient to reimburse program costs, Motor Vehicles should periodically perform a full cost analysis of the decal program and update the fee accordingly
Annual Follow-Up Agency Response From January 2017
Regulations to amend the Clean Air Vehicle Decal fee from $8 to $22 were approved by the Office of Administrative Law on May 9, 2016 and were effective on July 1, 2016. DMV considers this recommendation fully implemented.
- Completion Date: July 2016
California State Auditor's Assessment of Annual Follow-Up Status: Fully Implemented
1-Year Agency Response
DMV's cost analysis is complete and new rules have been developed to increase the fee to reflect our costs. Subsequently, a regulatory proposal increasing the Clean Air Vehicle Decals fee to $22 was published on January 21, 2016. The public comment period concludes on March 7, 2016. DMV hopes to see the regulations effective July 1, 2016.
- Estimated Completion Date: July 1, 2016
- Response Date: February 2016
California State Auditor's Assessment of 1-Year Status: Partially Implemented
6-Month Agency Response
DMV completed the cost analysis and is in the process of completing regulations to update the fee.
- Estimated Completion Date: 08/10/2016
- Response Date: August 2015
California State Auditor's Assessment of 6-Month Status: Partially Implemented
60-Day Agency Response
DMV is currently reviewing information as part of the decal cost analysis.
- Estimated Completion Date: 08/10/2015
- Response Date: April 2015
California State Auditor's Assessment of 60-Day Status: Partially Implemented
Agency responses received are posted verbatim.