Report 2013-103 Recommendation Responses

Report 2013-103: Armed Persons With Mental Illness: Insufficient Outreach From the Department of Justice and Poor Reporting From Superior Courts Limit the Identification of Armed Persons With Mental Illness (Release Date: October 2013)

Recommendation for Legislative Action

The Legislature should amend state law to specify that all mental health-related prohibiting events must be reported to Justice within 24 hours regardless of the entity required to report.

Description of Legislative Action

Assembly Bill 1591 (Achadjian/Gray, Chapter 141, Statutes of 2014) requires a court to notify the Justice of a court order finding a person to be a danger to others as a result of a mental disorder or illness, or adjudicated to be a mentally disordered sex offender as soon as possible, but not later than one court day after issuing the order.

  • Legislative Action Current As-of: January 2015

California State Auditor's Assessment of Status: Partially Implemented

Assembly Bill 1591 requires the court to notify Justice as soon as possible, but not later than one court day after issuing the order. In order to fully implement our recommendation, the Legislature should consider amending state law to require the notification within 24 hours.


All Recommendations in 2013-103


Report type

Report type
















© 2013, California State Auditor | Privacy Policy | Conditions of Use | Download Adobe PDF Reader