Report 2012-117 Recommendation Responses

Report 2012-117: State Athletic Commission: Its Ongoing Administrative Struggles Call Its Future Into Question (Release Date: March 2013)

Recommendation for Legislative Action

If the commission fails to implement its plan by the time frame specified, the Legislature should consider transferring the commission's responsibilities to Consumer Affairs.

Description of Legislative Action

SB 309 (Chapter 370, Statutes of 2013) was signed by the governor on September 26, 2013, and extends the sunset date for the commission to 2016. This statute also addresses other recommendations in the report. Specifically, SB 309:

-Authorizes CSAC to charge a $20 fee to issue federal identification cards and requires the cards to be reissued once every four year.

-Requires CSAC to use no more than 30% of monies from the State Athletic Commission Neurological Examination Account to fund special neurological examinations and limits the administrative costs associated with managing and distributing the account to no more than 20% of the prior year's contributions.

-Raises the minimum fee collected by CSAC for an amateur event or contest from $500 to $1,000 and clarifies that the minimum fee for a professional event is $1,250.

-Raises the maximum broadcasting fee collected by CSAC from $25,000 to $35,000.

-Limits the administrative costs associated with investing, managing and distributing the Boxers' Pension Fund to 2% of the corpus of the Fund.

  • Legislative Action Current As-of: October 2013

California State Auditor's Assessment of 6-Month Status: Partially Implemented


All Recommendations in 2012-117


Report type

Report type
















© 2013, California State Auditor | Privacy Policy | Conditions of Use | Download Adobe PDF Reader